Nigeria, July 26, 2015, (Blank NEWS Online) – 20150726_112454

Mr. Abdulwaheed Odusile has been elected as the new National President of the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) at the union’s election held on Saturday night during its 5th triennial delegates’ conference in Abuja. He succeeds Garba Mohammed.

This is just as former Delta state Chairman and zonal Secretary of the Union, Comrade. Edward Akpati Ogude clinched the position of Vice President, South-South Zone F.

Odusile, who is from the Lagos State council and the Managing Editor of The Nation Newspapers, scored 354 votes to defeat his closest rival, Mr Rotimi Obamuwugan, who scored 333 votes, and four others, namely, Michael Aladenika, Dele Atunbi (51 votes), U.S.A.Uzaka (46 votes) and Mustafa Lamidi (12 votes) who ran for the post of President with him.

In his victory speech, he said his first priority is to ensure employers in the media industry do not owe journalists salaries.

Mr Mohammad Shu clinched the position of the financial secretary of the union after he secured 454 votes to defeat his contender Mr. Ajayi Olugbenga while the post of the National Treasurer went to Mrs Monica Okechukwu who got 310 votes to defeat two other contestants, namely, Mr Garba Iliya and Mr Ambrose Nwachukwu.

Meanwhile, the positions of Deputy National President, National Internal Auditor and the Vice-President, North-central were filled unopposed.

Comrade Edward Akpati Ogude (Vice President South-South Zone F)
Comrade Edward Akpati Ogude (Vice President South-South Zone F)

Former Delta state Chairman and zonal Secretary of the Union, Comrade. Edward Akpati Ogude was also returned unopposed as Vice President, South-South Zone F.

Mr Chris Isiguzo was declared winner of the South East Vice-President after he defeated Mr Goddy Okafor while Aisha Ibrahim clinched the position of Vice-President North-east.

Other officials elected were Opaka Dokubo, Zonal Secretary South-South, Mr Kenneth Ofoma Zonal Secretary, South-east while Suleiman Ibrahim emerged Secretary, North-east.

Similarly, Mr Hakeem Olatidoye emerged Secretary, North Central and Mr Lawal Afolabi won the post of the Secretary, South-eest Zone.

Delegates to the conference were drawn from NUJ Councils from the 36 states of the Federation and the FCT.

***Read Blank NEWS Online for regular news updates…Also like us on Facebook & follow us on Twitter @blanknewsonlin1

Advertise in Blank NEWS Online
Visit Us @: 
Phone: +234 8037 644 337 
E.I.C: Albert Eruorhe Ograka

*News *Literati* Adverts
*News *Literati* Adverts